In which we relax…

“Happiness is not a possession to be prized, it is a quality of thought, a state of mind.”

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

 

This weekend really has been a most indulgent and relaxing couple of days. Having discharged all housework (I cannot sit still if the house is not clean and tidy), shopping and general domestic duties by Friday evening, Nathan and I have been free to enjoy doing very, very little. 

On Saturday morning Nathan spent some time at home while I took a client’s dog out for a walk. She’d booked an extended two hour slot for her pooch, which afforded me the opportunity of exploring further along the river bank than time constraints usually allow. Afterward, we looped back toward the man-made loch that is a few minutes from our cottage and had the uncomfortable experience of discovering an entire tribe of these…

… It was horrendous – they were everywhere! Like that awful scene in Indiana Jones where Harrison Ford finds himself dropped into a snake-pit, every time I moved my foot another toad would come to life and go hopping off in some direction or another, sometimes splatting onto my wellington boots, sometimes hitting my canine companian and dropping back to the moist earth of the path with a dull thud… Eurgh! 

Returning home from the horror of the outdoors (don’t get me wrong – I love nature, moreso even, since I have lived in Scotland…. I do not, however, love nature launching itself at my every move…) I decided that a little decadence was in order and so gave myself that rarest of treats – the mid-afternoon bath… Immersed up to my neck in deep, hot water, with cinnamon scented bubbles spilling over the edge of the bathtub and onto the floor, glass of Bourbon in one hand and Toni Braxton crooning quietly from the speaker of my iPad I couldn’t help but wonder to myself “WHY the HELL don’t I do this more often?!”

Nathan had a good fire going by the time I exited the steam-filled room and we stayed in front of it for the whole of the rest of the evening. We’ve decided recently to make a conscious effort to switch off the television more often and spend time reading instead. I made a good start on Wilkie Collins’ The Woman in White whilst Nathan had decided to re-read The Shellseekers by Rosamund Pilcher. There really is nothing more enjoyable than lazing around with a good novel while logs crack and spit in the grate…

Hoping to maintain our idleness for another day, Nathan and I decided first thing that to avoid any sense of guilt we ought to ‘earn’ our indolence by first going for another hike from our book of walks… We settled upon Scolty Hill, near Banchory and by 7.30am were already trundling along in the woods…

The route that our guide book took us along was not long (some 3 or 4 miles), but it soon moved beyond flat woodland and opened out onto steep paths that ran up to the top of the hill…

All the ‘huffing and puffing’ was worth it, however, when we reached the summit and could enjoy 360 degree panoramic views across the county…

We spent a little while taking the obligatory ‘doggie’ shots. We are a little worried at the moment that Bruce (the Dobermann) may not be too long for this world. He has been steadily losing weight over the past couple of months and his snout is greying. Add to this the mysterious appearance of a couple of lumps upon his legs and the anxiety begins to mount… Hopefully a trip to the vets will eradicate our fears and it may be confirmed that he is merely getting ‘older’ rather than sick…

At the top of Scolty Hill is a large round tower, erected in 1842 in memory of a previous Banchory resident. I desperately wanted to climb the spiral staircase inside and go out on to the viewing platform, but they always make my legs turn to jelly and I only managed to get halfway up before the shakes took over and I was forced to seek, once again, the comfort of solid ground…

Nathan, on the other hand, whizzed up the tower like a billy-goat…

By 10am we were home again, showered and sitting out in the garden with coffee.

The dogs dozed…

By midday we were tucking into a hearty tapas style lunch – cheeses, cured meat, bread, dips etc ah bliss…

By 1pm we’d started pouring generous measures of gin and tonic…

And now? 

Well, let’s just say that we’re still ‘mellow’! 

I’d intended to get a little sewing done today, but I don’t think in my current state I ought to be operating any machinery! 

 

Here’s hoping you’ve all had a nice, relaxing weekend too.

 

More soon

 

MR x x x

 

Standard

One thought on “In which we relax…

Leave a Reply

