In which I fall in love…

It’s official! I’m in love! I’ve dabbled in everything from sewing and quilting to knitting and crochet over the last nine years and must admit that certain elements if these crafts have always seemed out of reach to me, or rather, to require so much effort that they would never make the break from grand dream to reality… It was for this reason that I have spent almost a decade drooling over other peoples’ hexagon quilts without ever making a move to begin creating my own, but now I’ve started I cannot believe that I waited so long! Sure it’s pretty time consuming, but making hexies is the easiest thing in the world to do, requires no concentration whatsoever and is, in my opinion, the VERY best way of getting a quick sewing fix when you are plonked in front of the tv and don’t want to (in my tiny cottage, at least!) sit in the little nook at the top of the stairs in the company of the sewing machine…

 

I bought this title…

…a couple of years back when it was first published because I’ve always loved the look of hexie quilts. Looking through the patterns, though, I noticed that a lot of the designs in the book involve using hexagons to create a variety of secondary shapes from rosettes to chevrons…

…and I wanted to create something with a little more fluidity and freedom; surely the joy of this type of work is in not worrying about hexagon placement? It occurred to me too that having an ‘anything and everything, everywhere and anywhere’ approach would not only maximise my ability to use up all of the scraps that I’ve collected over the years, but would, in turn, mean that the finished quilt would be a fantastic keepsake/reminder of all of those past projects, all of the things I’ve made and gifted or have been lucky enough to sell…

Several years ago somebody gave me a 1.5inch metal hexagon template, so I traced around this a million times on sheets and sheets of plain printer paper to create my foundation paper templates…

And then started chopping into those scraps and leftovers…

After an evening or two of hand-basting the hexies (I read up about glue basting, but that sounded like an accident waiting to happen as far as I was concerned!) I think I may actually be in a position to begin stitching some together! 

So take it from me: if there is something out there you want to try that makes you nervous then don’t deliberate any longer -it may just turn out to be the most enjoyable thing you’ve ever done…

 

Standard

One thought on “In which I fall in love…

Leave a Reply

