In which I feed my addiction…

It wasn’t my fault. Honestly, it wasn’t…

Given that storage space in our humble abode is at a real premium I had agreed with Nathan that I wouldn’t buy any more vintage ‘stuff’ until we moved. 

But then I kept receiving emails from lots of lovely people with this attached…

So, you see, it really wasn’t my fault! I mean, what was I to do? You wouldn’t invite an alcoholic to a wine tasting day, or somebody with Munchausen’s to the hospital….

In all honesty Nathan was very good when I picked up yet another bevelled mirror to add to my collection – I got away with merely a raised eyebrow and a slight, almost imperceptible, shake of the head… 

There is a ‘grand plan’ for all of these mirrors, don’t worry! They wont remain in storage forever! 

Next up was this enamel bin. We’ve all seen these a million times before, but I love enamel-ware and the patina that each piece carries. This one caught my eye because it did not have the usual text on the side and the knob-type handle differs from the more commonplace looped style. 

My third find was this Liberty of London Fabric remnant…

I was in two minds about this at first as there is some fading along the whole piece and a good sized hole too. When I discovered, however, that the chap only wanted £1.00 for it I soon overcame my caution and decided that holes and fading would not notice if I chopped it up into patchwork pieces for a quilt… 

I think I’ll pair it with these sets of patchwork squares that Nathan and I picked up for a couple of pounds in a vintage shop in Chichester last year….

A bit more of a muted palette than I’d usually go for, but I’m interested to see what other toning fabrics I can dig out of my stash…

The final bit of loot this morning was this American buttonholer which, so I’m told, should fit my vintage Singer sewing machine. As you can see it still had the original box and instructions, so for £2.00 I thought it was worth a shot…

Now where to put all this stuff? With all this excitement I may have to have a lay down…

 More soon

 

MR x x x

 

Standard

One thought on “In which I feed my addiction…

  1. Jenny says:

    Blast! I didn’t even know it was on and can’t go as am still in my jammies after a mornings sewing! Glad you had success!! X

Leave a Reply

