In which stripes become chevrons…

So today I finally got around to completing my ‘something-I-wouldn’t-normally-make’ project.

Hopefully you’ll remember where we left off? I’d selected three fabrics, cut them into strips of varying widths and randomly pieced them all back together to create two large rectangles of striped fabric thus:

On the break between Christmas and New Year I took the time to square up the edges and then used the 45 degree line of my quilting ruler to cut the rectangles into MORE strips of random lengths (N.B if you intend to try this yourself then please be advised that you need to cut the two pieces in opposite directions i.e. 45 degrees slanting right for one piece and 45 degrees slanting left for the other) When I’d left myself with a pile of what looked like wastage/offcuts and the awful realisation that everything was now cut on the bias and therefore prone to pulling out of shape I started to piece the strips back together, alternating the direction of the slant until the stripes became chevrons(well, kinda!)! Then I backed the whole thing with some leftover quilt wadding and used the walking foot on my machine to simply straight-stitch quilted lines either side of the seams for each strip.

Because the finished fabric was made up of a tonne of different length strips I had to trim the edges quite substantially to get a clean shape that I could use to make something. The long narrow rectangle that emerged was the perfect size for a cushion pad that I had lurking in storage so the chevron fabric reached its final incarnation!

And here it is… 

The backing fabric is a plain cotton in lilac…

 

I even remembered, for once, the little Mothers Ruin labels that I had made ages ago and included one on the outside seam. I think (I hope you agree!) that the label gives the cushion quite a ‘professional’ finish…

One thing I didn’t anticipate when I started this project was just how many offcuts I was going to be left with! I’ve stitched a few bits together to make larger pieces, but still have to find something to do with all of these:

I do need a needlebook, so I guess I could use up some of the leftovers there but otherwise I’m pretty stumped! Any suggestions? (Polite ones!)

I’m glad I completed this project as I am pretty happy with the end result and think that my cushion is quite striking. It was also interesting to make something from much more basic fabrics and not rely on the prettiness of the print to carry the overall design. I’ll be adding this one to the shop, however, as it was not made for anybody specifically and was more of an exercise for me than anything  else. If you are interested then you can find it here. SOLD 

It’s been nice to have the time to get back to a bit of crafting – Nathan and I had an absolutely manic end to his two weeks off and were hardly in the house, so I’d neglected my sewing machine since well before Christmas really. I think, dear readers, that I’ve shown you most of the nicer things that we got up to (I’m guessing you didn’t want to me start posting photo’s of us shopping in Tesco or anything equally as exciting!) but one thing that you’ve not yet heard anything about is the glorious trip to ‘Burn O’Vat’ that we had on Saturday…

Friends recommended that we took a drive over there and we were so glad that they did! It was just heart-achingly beautiful and we were lucky in that there was nobody else around to spoil it or that we had to be mindful of. Google informs me that Burn O’Vat is actually an example of a pothole and was formed from meltwater about 14,000 years ago at the conclusion of the last ice age, but no amount of explanation or description can really give a full sense of the place. I’ve honestly seen nothing like it in my life before – it was so magical that I almost felt like it was not real, like I’d stumbled onto the man-made set of some Spielberg film…

We took a short walk from the car park, crossing streams and listening to the birds sing in the trees.

Behind us lay Loch Kinord (my next walk, me-thinks!)…

While up ahead we were greeted by the sound of trickling water and what looked like a path blocked by fallen boulders…

  

If, however, one walks right to the very end of the path (to the left of the above picture) and steps up onto a rock then the route through becomes clear…

And by hopping across a few stones and squeezing between the two rock faces you can finally reach the heart of the pothole and the cascading waterfall inside…

Just amazing! I’m atheist, but it was practically a religious experience. I imagine this is how it would feel to have a vision of the Virgin Mary! 

How many more hidden gems can Aberdeenshire have?! I want to find them all!

 

More soon

 

MR x x x 

Standard

7 thoughts on “In which stripes become chevrons…

  1. Jenny says:

    Just a wee note to say you’ll have to go back to Burn O’Vat, there’s a cave you can hide in behind the waterfall……😱!! X

  2. Cath says:

    I didn’t know there was a cave! Been there a fair few times – although never with as much water as you.

    Anyway – what about catching beanbags with your scraps? I made some years ago for my nippers and they have well used. There’s lovely tetrahedron shaped designs if you’re leftovers work for that.

    Lovely cushion!
    Cath

  3. Pingback: In which Mothers Ruin has a near-death experience… | Tales from Mothers Ruin

Leave a Reply

