In which we don’t discuss the weather…

Well I was going to have great fun in this post telling you all about the horrific weather we’ve had here – the fallen trees blocking the roads, Nathan’s colleague who’s car was smashed by a falling chimney, my FULL (and very heavy!)metal bin blowing right across the garden, the flooding in central Aberdeen that delayed Nathan’s journey home by several hours, the previously unwitnessed phenomenom of rain ‘falling’ horizontally…. and then I switched the news on this morning to find that almost the whole country has been hit by adverse weather conditions and that, sadly, many have actually lost their homes as a result. Thus – we won’t speak of the weather any more! However thrilling it may have seemed to me yesterday, it has been costly and distressing for others. I am grateful that (to my knowledge) none of our friends or family have been effected.

Instead, then, I’ll tell you (well, show really!) about my walk this morning and the beautiful man-made Loch that our neighbours revealed to us was just seconds from our house…

With both dogs on a lead and the crisp morning air biting at my cheeks I left my cosy cottage…

 

… walked to the end of the drive….

… and took a left…

After passing half a dozen houses a field opens up on the left-hand side…

 

And at the top of the field there is a gate…

Once through the gate you pass between two huge pine trees and on into a tunnel of dark, bare, twisted branches…

…. which eventually start to clear aside…

…whereupon you discover this…

I don’t think these pictures do the Loch justice. It is a stunning place to have available for dog walking.

Better still – our neighours tell us that the lodge and boathouse that sit on the edge of the water are available for holiday rental, which makes this a perfect retreat for anybody that wants to come and visit us (form an orderly queue!)…

The dogs and I walked the entire perimeter (well, actually Denny probably walked it twice! She gets so excited that she runs back and forth and covers far more ground than Bruce or I!) listening to ducks quack and a cockerel crying (there is a farm beyond the trees so I assume the noise was coming from there and that this was not poultry with an identity crisis that had run off to live with the natives!)…

After an hour or so it was time to head back…

We live just out of sight to the right of this photo…

Gorgeous, isn’t it? It’s so perfect here that it doesn’t feel quite real. I feel like I’m living on a film set at times – that Narnia, Harry Potter and Braveheart have just been rolled into one and put up all around me…

In crafty news (can’t NOT mention anything creative!) I decided to start knitting a wee cardigan for my Neice, who is coming to stay in a couple of weeks. Val from Deeside Yarns (the yarn shop in Kincardine O’Neil) gave me the pattern for free and I chose this self-striping sock yarn to give a fair-isle effect without the hard work!

I’ll keep you updated with my progress… (I’m part way through my stool renovation as discussed in a previous post – pictures to follow!)

More soon

MR x 

Standard

One thought on “In which we don’t discuss the weather…

  1. bex says:

    errmm slightly worrying weather with my visit just days away!Even more worrying im not sure my wardrobe is ready for that weather

Leave a Reply

