In which we have a moan…

Ok..ok…. So the cracks have started to show! 

It sounds all wonderful and romantic to talk about the dogs snuggling up on the hearth rug in front of a roaring fire. 

Reality – a hearth rug that needs straightening every ten minutes! Argh! 

It sounds all wonderful and romantic to talk about the dogs snuggling up on the hearth rug in front of a roaring fire.

Reality – a fire grate that needs to be cleaned and swept daily. Argh!

It sounds all wonderful and romantic to talk about the dogs snuggling up on the hearth rug in front of a roaring fire. 

Reality – chopping logs to light the bloody fire with! Yes, me! With an axe! Or rather ‘a log splitter’ as I’ve been corrected several times! 

The fashion’s not up to much either! So far I’ve worked my way through trainers (those of you that know me well will know how much it has pained me to concede defeat on the trainer issue), a hoodie (ditto), snow boots, a padded fleece, a trapper hat, flat cap…the list goes on. I have a wardrobe full of nice city clothes and no city in which to wear them! The one time in the last week that I did manage to force myself into a blazer was last Friday when Nathan took me out to dinner and the people on the next table were in camouflage gear…. No really….  There was I, Italian kid leather gloves, overcoat, shiney shoes, Links of London necklace. And there they were, camouflage gear, flat hair, steel toe-cap boots. Talk about no need to make an effort. 

The point became all the more poignant when I went to Tesco’s to buy a bottle of wine to put in the casserole (yes, I cook now!) and got asked for I.D. Now I know most people would be flattered by this, but being a miserable old ******** I can’t say I was particularly impressed! Sure I’d just shaved and I’ve recently been using a very nice No7 moisturiser, but really?! I.D. for alcohol? You only have to be 18 to drink (and it was the cheapest bottle of muck I’ve ever picked up! I wasn’t even drinking it!) How old did she think I was? 12? 15? I was just about to respond with some comment like “how many 15 year olds do you know that walk around with the keys to a 4×4 in their hand, have a trolley full of wildly exciting things like bleach and freezer bags as opposed to condoms and spot treatment, and get their wallet out to pay from a GENUINE GUCCI MESSENGER BAG???” when I remembered the family of camouflaged freaks and realised that, sadly, this old girl on the checkout probably didn’t know what a Gucci messenger bag was and, furthermore, probably didn’t give a flying one….. 

And finally! Nowhere sells anything here!!! Other crafters will know that when you go to your local haberdashery to buy 30mm lime green bias binding to finish your quilt then you expect to be able to buy 30mm lime green bias binding! This may be Scotland, but it’s still the 21st Century!!!!

(A note for my dear Sister who I know will be reading this – this post is purely ‘tongue in cheek’, my dear, and does not, in any way, shape or form, mean that I regret moving! You can read and laugh along! Stop worrying. STOP!) 

Still, after taking the dogs for a walk I gained a little perspective! Who cares about chopping logs? There’s nobody around to see me…. Who cares about me having a wildly inappropriate wardrobe? Just means I can shop for loadsa new things!… Who cares if I somehow managed to shave the better part of a decade off my face? I’ll never need the Sharon Osborne effect in future years…. And who cares if people want to go out to dinner dressed down, in camouflage gear? No…. Sorry…. There has to be a line somewhere and it’s there. Unforgiveable…. 

And the dog walk I mentioned? A new place I’ve discovered. A 2 minute walk from the house, through a gate and into the woods:

Here’s one of my little Denny!

And an arty one of Boo-Boo (real name Bruce, for those of you that don’t know) looking all majestic and stag-like as we walked up the hill….

And finally – if you look closely at this one, you may be able to make out the mountain in the distance with snow all over the top of it!! It’s getting closer!!

 

Beautiful, innit? 

Nothing really worth moaning about then, I guess…. *wink* 

 

MR x x x

P.S Mothers Ruin would like to thank everybody for all the cards and calls that we’ve received since moving. MR feels very special (which, of course, MR is!!!) x

Standard

One thought on “In which we have a moan…

  1. Marie says:

    Aww pictures look amazing!! Looked at flights today!! So excited going to book tomorrow I think, so text me some dates in nov, dec and jan.

    Love you and miss you loads

    Xxx

Leave a Reply

